LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA - OCTOBER 30: Drake speaks onstage during Drake's Till Death Do Us Part rap battle on October 30, 2021 in Long Beach, California.

It’s no secret that Drake enjoys showing love to his friends who he mentions in his music as his “dogs.” Since the title of Drake’s newest album is For All The Dogs, we decided to take a trip down memory lane on previous songs he has referred to his friends as “dogs.”

Drake Releases Lead Single For All The Dogs

The lead single for the album is Drake’s first-ever collaboration with SZA According to his album announcement, the “old Drake” is back. This rings true in Drake’s opening line to “Slime You Out.”

“I feel like y’all don’t need love/You need somebody who could micro-manage you/You know what I’m sayin’? Tell you right from wrong,” he sings.

Later in his verse, he hypes himself up, telling the woman he’s better than her new man. He also calls her out and says that her choice to pick the other guy over Drake is childish.

“I met the n—- you thought could replace/How were there even comparisons made?/Bitch, next time, I swear on my grandmother grave/I’m slimin’ you for them kid choices you made/Slimin’ you out, slimin’ you out, slimin’ you out,” he sings.

To promote the song, he used a photo of Halle Berry being slimed at the 2012 Kids Choice Awards, which she did not approve of.

He told fans originally that For All The Dogs would be released on September 22, but due to his current tour with 21 Savage, plans have changed.

“Okay, my dilemma I am faced with is I either cancel [the]show to finish the album or I complete the mission and drop the album before the last show,” Drake wrote on his Instagram Story on (Sept. 16). “I owe you all these memories we are building, and anywhere we have missed to date we will be spinning back for sure.”

“For All the Dogs, October 6th it’s only right,” he concluded.

Drake’s last date for the It’s All A Blur Tour is in Columbus, Ohio on Oct. 9.

Take a look at some of the times Drake has used the word “dog” in his music below:

  • "Jaded" - Drake 'Scorpion' (2018)

    “Jaded” is the 15th track on Drake’s 2018 album Scorpion. In the song, he is singing about how the woman in his life makes him feel used since she left him after she “got what she wanted.” The song is rumored to be about Jorja Smith, an R&B singer he was rumored to be dating in 2017. While the main focus of this song is the end of this relationship, he mentions his “dogs” in the intro and the chorus.

    The lyric: Dogs on this side, dogs over on this side

  • "Where Ya At" Future ft. Drake 'DS2' (2015)

    Drake carries the love for his dogs into his features as well. “Where were you when all the dogs needed help?” he raps in his verse on Future’s “Where Ya At?”

    He then recites part of the chorus rapped by Future in his last couple of lines which also mention his “dogs.”

    “Man, where you’re a– was at, dog, when n—-s wouldn’t feed me?/Where you’re a– was at, dog, when bitches didn’t need me?”

    Two months after “Where Ya At” was released, the duo dropped their collaborative mixtape What a Time to Be Alive.

  • "Going Bad" Meek Mill ft. Drake 'Championships' (2018)

    This is one of the most times Drake has used “dog” or “dawg” in a song. In his first verse alone, Drake says “dawg” six times not including the adlibs. “Going Bad” is the first time Meek Mill and Drake collaborated after their 2015 beef.

    Take a look at the lines below:

    “Foreign s— runnin’ on diesel, dawg/Playin’ with my name, that s— is lethal, dawg (Who you say you was?)” Everybody actin’ like they know me, dawg

    “You asked to see the boss, so they sent me, dawg (Sent me, dawg)
    I just broke her off with a 10-piece, dawg (10-piece, dawg)
    That ain’t nothin’, I’m just bein’ friendly, dawg

  • "Portland" - Drake ft. Quavo and Travis Scott 'More Life' (2017)

    In “Portland,” Drake, Quavo and Travis Scott brag about their extravagant lifestyles. The song is found on Drake’s 2017 mixtape More Life. In this “dog” reference, Drake uses it to let his friends know the best is yet to come and he’s trying to make that a reality for them.

    The lyric: “Tryna show the dogs brighter days/Got a torch, tryna light the way”

  • "Time Flies" - Drake 'Dark Lanes Demo Tapes' (2020)

    “Time Flies” is off of Drake’s 2020 mixtape Dark Lanes Demo Tapes. This is another track where Drake is vulnerable about his relationship with a woman and even pulls up to her place, trying to work things out. He sings about his loyalty when he mentions his “dogs” on this track.

    The lyric: “Still with the dawgs that I grew beside”

  • "Wants and Needs" Drake ft. Lil Baby 'Scary Hours 2' (2021)

    Drake recruited Lil Baby for his 2021 hit “Wants and Needs.” The track is found on Drake’s 2021 mixtape Scary Hours 2. In this “dog” lyric, Drake warns his enemies that his friends will come after them if they try to mess with him.

    The lyric: “Barkin’ up the wrong tree, you know how the dogs get”

  • "The Remorse" - Drake 'Certified Lover Boy' (2021)

    Drake is known for his scathing endings to his albums but this one hit a little different. In “The Remorse,” the last song on his 2021 project Certified Lover Boy, the Toronto rapper digs deep into some regrets he’s had in the past. In the “dog” line off of this track, Drake admits to hiding his true feelings from his friends.

    The lyric: “I told you everything is fine, dawg, but I lied”

  • "Knife Talk"- Drake ft. 21 Savage and Project Pat 'Certified Lover Boy' (2021)

    “Knife Talk” was the only entirely rap song on Certified Lover Boy and little did we know it would serve as the teaser to Drake and 21’s Her Loss. In “Knife Talk,” 21 and Drake give out a warning to their opps to not mess with them. Prior to Drake’s “dog” lyric, he raps “Voodoo curse, it got him while I flew to Turks” which many think is a reference to Kanye and Kim Kardashian’s split since in December 2020, Drake was vacationing in Turks and Caicos and a week later it was announced that Kanye and Kim were separating after six years of marriage. Their divorce was finalized in November 2022.

    The lyric: Know the dogs had to hit them where we knew it hurts

  • "A Keeper" - Drake 'Honestly, Nevermind' (2022)

    “A Keeper” was one of the standout songs from Drake’s Honestly, Nevermind album. The LP came as a surprise when the rapper dropped it without warning back in June of last year. In this “dog” lyric, the rapper tells how it’s hard for him to not tell the truth to an ex.

    The lyric: “Sticks on my dawgs, and I can’t even lie to you”

  • "Rich Flex" - Drake and 21 Savage 'Her Loss' (2022)

    “Rich Flex” was one of the many popular songs off of Drake and 21 Savage’s collab album Her Loss. The album was released in November 2022 and back in March the rappers announced that they would be going on tour in support of the album. In Drake’s “dog” line in “Rich Flex,” the rapper ensures his fans that the ones closest to him are doing well.

    The lyrics: All the dawgs eatin’ off a Baccarat plate

Sign me up for the Jammin' 105.7 email newsletter!

Become a part of the Jammin' FAM to recieve the the latest music and entertainment news, plus concert announcements, exclusive prizes, and more!

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.